Favorites

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

It's Official!

Hey guys! So, I have some really exciting news that I've been dying to tell you all for awhile now. I wanted to wait until it was absolutely one hundred percent official before I said anything and, finally, that time has come. I'll start at the very beginning:

It was March 21 and I was driving back to my friend Sydney's house after going to see Divergent with her. I dropped her off at her house and was heading home when I got a phone call from my sister-in-law, Natasha. I was kind of surprised because she's a radiologist and she works the night shift (and pretty much any other shift they'll give her. She's pretty much the definition of a workaholic.) We had a little bit of small talk and then she just came out and was like "So, yeah. I'm pregnant."

I was kind of quiet for a minute and then I was like "Are you kidding with me right now?" After I asked that like three times in a row I was pretty convinced she wasn't lying to me and I started to cry fabulous happy tears of supreme joy. Tash proceeded to tell me that it was going to be a girl. I mean, I would have been happy either way, but let's be honest. We all know that I was really stinkin' happy that it's going to be a girl. I'm girls kind of girl.

Tash then told me that her due date is August 13, which I responded to with a "So your four months pregnant and you're just telling me now?!" But to be honest I really didn't care. I was just so overwhelmingly happy that I felt like I could never ever be mad or sad again. I had been waiting so long for this moment and I was finally going to be an aunt.

Like I aforementioned, my sister is a major workaholic so, despite my most valiant efforts, I still haven't gotten to see her. Our schedules just never seem to work out. However, just this most recent Saturday we've both found a day next month where we can both get together for a lunch date. I bought two books as late mother's day gift for her.

I can't believe my big brother is going to be a dad. Actually, it's a bit nerve wracking considering what I clean freak he is (he literally washes his shoes ever single freaking day and washes his white car everyday before he goes to work.). I have no idea how he's going to deal with a little baby spitting up all over their white sofa and cashmere blankets. I really just don't know. I think I'm going to have to put him through some sort of boot camp. But on a more serious note, I know that he's going to make an amazing father and I'm so proud of him. He's worked so hard these past ten years and now he's finally going to be able to share all of his blessings with an amazing child.

I'm beyond excited to be an aunt and can't wait to spend more time with my brother and sister-in-law. I'm hoping that the two of them might finally slow down and work a little bit less. And that they'll loosen up a little bit. I'll never forget two years ago when they held the annual family Christmas party at there house. Natasha had spent the past six months having a bow custom made for the top of the Christmas tree. They had had it redone, I kid you not, fifteen times. It was too big, too small, the tails were too long, the tails were too short. I swear every time I saw them, they were talking about that damned bow. So Christmas finally rolls around and they've got their tree decorated to look like something out of a freaking Frontgate catalog. And I forget who but someone said "What are you going to do when you have kids. 'Cause let me tell ya, kids don't decorate trees like that." And they said "We're going to have this tree here in the main living room and then we'll have a smaller one for them to decorate in the den." And no one said it, but you could tell that we were all thinking it- 'Sorry Johnny, but there's no way in hell that you can put that decoration you spent three hours making on this tree. But you can put it on the little one in the den that no one will see if you really have to.' Yeah right.

I think that they're going to be in for a pretty big lifestyle change. But I guess if they decide to stick to their own ways, the kid can always come over to Auntie Lily's house and make a mess there.

2 comments:

  1. LILY!!!!!!!

    Bro I swear you talk like a freaking middle-aged or twenty-something blogger LOL

    This was actually interesting to read about LOL so CONGRATULATIONS ON BEING AN AUNT AND CONGRATS TO YOUR BIG BROTHER AND SISSY-IN-LAW!!!!!! (Your family is confusing, but I shall adjust LOL)

    YAY!!!!!!!!

    Here's hoping they can figure out how not to completely mess up a kid with their workaholic and neat-freak tendencies LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was? Well, yay then. I try to not bore people.

      Delete